Lorain County seniors set to play in girls basketball all-star game

MORNING JOURNAL/JIM BOBEL Vermilion’s AuBree LaForce, back, goes up for a layup against Fairview during the regular season. LaForce will be playing in the Lorain County Girls All-Star game at Elyria High School tonight.

MORNING JOURNAL/JIM BOBEL Elyria’s Mary Jones, left, is shown stealing the ball from Amherst’s Sheridan Champe during a Division I District Semifinal last month. Jones will be on the Black Team in tonight’s All-Star game.

The high school girls’ basketball season may be over, but that doesn’t mean there’s no more basketball to be played.

The top senior basketball players in the county are set to showcase their skills tonight in the annual Lorain County Girls Basketball Coaches Association All-Star Game.

The Blue Team will take on the Orange Team in the first game at 6 p.m., while the Black Team will play the Gold Team in the second game. Both games will be played at Elyria High School.

Brookside’s Tom Moyer and Wellington’s Chris Reutepohler will coach the Blue Team, which features Wellington’s Raven Howard, Erin Reisinger and Grace Dooley, Gabby Woods (Brookside), Alexis Roseboro (Elyria), Megan Salisbury (Amherst), Shannon Hopkins (Elyria Catholic), Katlynne Baker (Clearview), Destiny Samples (Firelands), Melissa Knepper (Keystone), Ellen Rossi (Vermilion) and Aungie Owens (Oberlin).

The Orange Team, coached by First Baptist’s John Milam and Open Door’s Bud Turner, features First Baptist’s Tori Odle and Samantha Iler, Avon Lake’s Molly Disbrow, Anelise Kollias and Maggie Heschel, Columbia’s Christine Lyzen, Jenna Guth and Kaley Marshall, North Ridgeville’s Cassie Mattix and Cortney Judson, Brook Camera (Open Door) and Jessie Eichenlaub (Midview).

The second game features Division I Lorain County Player of the Year Alex Harris (Lorain), D-II Player of the Year AuBree LaForce, D-III Co-Players of the Year and Elyria Catholic teammates Karissa McGrath and Brittney McNamara, and D-IV Player of the Year Sydney Clark (Lake Ridge).

Harris has been the Titans’ go-to player over the years and is headed to Penn State, LaForce became the Sailors’ all-time leading scorer earlier this season, McGrath and McNamara helped lead the Panthers to the district finals, and Clark helped guide the Royals to their first regional appearance in team history.

Harris, LaForce and Clark will all suit up for the Gold Team, which also includes Lake Ridge’s, Sharday Baines, Monet Saunders and Kyndall Wellons, along with Amherst’s Brianna Shagovac, Sydney Failing and single-season Lorain County 3-point record-holder Morgan Dziak, as well as Lorain’s Ashley Malone.

McGrath and McNamara will team up for the Black Team that also features Clearview’s Desiree Ray, MacKenzie Mielcarek and Sydney Wright, Avon’s Kaitlin Neumann and Brianna Smith, Mary Jones (Elyria), Rachel Holowecky (Firelands) and Briana Rodgers (Open Door).

The Black Team will be coached by Lorain County D-III Coach of the Year Eric Rothgery (Elyria Catholic) and Lorain County D-II Coach of the Year Nick Dimacchia (Clearview).

The Gold Team will be coached by North Ridgeville’s Amy Esser and Lorain County D-IV Coach of the Year Lisa Medvetz (Lake Ridge).


Last Updated: 3/18/2013 9:57:11 PM EST

From the Bleachers

See All