Wrestlers go out on positive note in Lorain County Wrestling All-Star Meet

MORNING JOURNAL/JIM BOBEL Avon’s Max Kuchenrither picks up Avon Lake’s Joey Bernosky during the 120-pound weight class match at the Lorain County Wrestling All-Stars Match. Bernosky went on to win the match.

MORNING JOURNAL/JIM BOBEL Brookside's Aidan Wonder, top, takes down North Ridgeville's Evan Collier in the 120 pound match at The Lorain County Wrestling All-Star Meet. Collier won the match 15-4.

MORNING JOURNAL/JIM BOBEL Amherst's Alex Funderburg, back, takes down Keystone's Chris Mckenzie in the 138-pound match during the Lorain County Wrestling All-Star Meet.

ELYRIA — Though the past couple of weeks have been tough, North Ridgeville’s Drew Dickson found a way to end his career on a good note.

At the 33rd Annual Lorain County Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association All Stars meet, Dickson shrugged off a sluggish first period en route to a 11-1 major decision to claim the 126-pound championship over Keystone’s Dylan Stiner in a battle of state qualifiers at Elyria Catholic High School Thursday.

Dickson, who qualified for the last week’s state tournament with a fourth place finish at district, was ruled ineligible for the state tournament due to a skin infection.

Dickson and Stiner were locked in a scoreless battle after the first period. Stiner took the down position to start the second period much to the liking of Dickson.

“I was pretty happy when he (Stiner) took down,” Dickson said. “I thought I could get a turn and get the match down on the mat. I couldn’t get anything going on my feet.”

Using his upper body strength, Dickson took a 2-0 lead on a near-fall early in the second period. The score held until Dickson scored a reversal in early in the third period. After Stiner escaped, Dickson scored a takedown and five back points to seal the win.

“It feels good, though I have been off for a week,” Dickson said. “Ending it on a good note kind of takes the bitterness off from last week, I’m trying to get over it.”

Clearview’s Matt Hollingsworth (132) had an outstanding night. Before he won the Wrestler of the year award for Divisions II and III, he capped off his career with a 4-3 championship win over Keystone’s Logan Stiner.

Hollingsworth trailed 3-2 late in the third period, but was able to score a late takedown for the win. While Matt was winning, his brother Mike was going well too. He earned third place in 132 with a 4-0 win over Darrion Overall of Elyria.

A pair of district qualifiers in the championship match at 145 gave fans their monies worth with Jake Delorge of Avon scoring a 2-1 overtime decision over Amherst’s Bryce Williams.

Host Elyria Catholic had a pair of champions with Austin Kuchta (195) and Adam Kuchta (220). Austin scored a 4-1 decision over Amherst’s Dennis Breeding, while Adam won with a 7-1 decision over Ivan Mendoza, of Brookside.

Along with the matches, the LCWCOA handed out three scholarships. Dickson, Lorain’s Blake Benyard and Amherst’s Mike Sliman were the recipients.

The LCWCOA also inducted four new members into its Hall of Fame.

Southview wrestler and current Lorain assistant coach Uland Ralston was the 1990 state runner-up. Former Elyria Catholic Coach Dan Hornbeek and former Clearview and Elyria West Coach John McKitrick along with North Ridgeville’s Joe Myers were also inducted.

Myers, who was a state runner-up, became the first Ranger inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Erik Burnett of Elyria and Keystone’s Jim Pycraft were named Coaches of the Year in Division I and Division II/III respectively.

2013 Lorain County All Stars

106 — Jacob Downs (W) dec. Justin Clark (CO), 4-2; Third — Frank Rizzo (A) dec. Jarret Hylton (CL), 6-3; Fifth — Mike Flencki (AM) pinned, Anthony Gerone (AL); 113 — Evan Collier (NR) maj. dec. Aidan Wonder (BR), 15-4; Third — Zach Carte (M) dec. Mike Fillaggi (EC), 7-5; Fifth — Nick Amspaugh (W) won by forfeit; 120 — Drew Dickson (NR) maj. dec. Dylan Stiner (K), 11-1; Third — Brandon Bartlome (L) pinnedJack Gothier (A); Fifth — Josh Gabor (M) won via forfeit; 126 — Joey Bernosky (AL) dec. Max Kuchenrither (A), 3-2; Third — Devin French (BR) dec. Mason Harsar (EC), 12-7; Fifth — Jon Eschedor (W) won via forfeit; 132 — Matt Hollinsworth (CL) decc. Logan Stiner (K), 3-2; Third — Mike Hollingsworth (CL) dec. Darrion Overall (E), 4-0; Fifth — Drew Schatz (M) dec. Sean Kilbane (EC), 7-2; 138 — Alex Funderburg (AM) maj. dec. Chris Mckenzie (K), 17-1; Third — Ben Provoznik (W) dec. Tony Lupico (M); Fifth — Clay Hartley (K) dec. Morgan Bremke (OB), 6-3; 145 — Jake Delorge (AV) dec. Bryce Williams (AM), 2-1 OT; Third — D.J. Murdock (AL) dec. Ian Standen (BR), 3-2 ot; Fifth — George Colvin (L)dec. Alex Imhoff (W), 3-1; 152 — Austin Williams (AM) dec. Derrick Foster (CL), 12-5; Third — Tyler Mayer (AL) maj. dec. Tyler Thomas (OB), 10-0; Fifth — Kolby Hirschfelder (M) dec. Josh Kitko (W), 5-2; 160 — Johs Fisher (L) pinned, Aaron Rice (V), 1:20; Third — Jason Barnicle (AL) won via default; 170 — Aaron Neal (L) maj. dec. Jeremy King (K), 15-3; Third — Kaz Dec (W) de. Brandon Blakely (AV), 7-3; Fifth — Taylor Workman (E) maj. dec. Noah Pine (F), 13-4; 182 — Hamza Kirresh (AV) dec. Derek Eibon (AM) 3-2; Third – Zack Fries (BR) pinned Alex Schumaker (CO), 1:59; Fifth — Ryan Steinmetz (AV) dec. Aaron Ferguson (W), 7-0; 195 — Austin Kuchta (EC) dec. Dennis Breeding (AM), 4-1; Third — Corbin Chizmadia (K) dec. Devin Resseger (L), 2-1; Fifth — Jose Carabello (CO) pinned, Jacob Squier (W), 2-27; 220 — Adam Kuchta (EC) dec. Ivan Mendoza (BR), 7-1; Third — Joe Travagliante (AV) dec. Jason Bustance (K), 3-1; Fifth — Todd Hastings (AM) pinned Nick Johnson (F), 1:08; HWY — T.J. Halstead (E) dec. Deion Arnold (CL), 5-1; Third — Nick Bailey (NR) pinned, Stephan Moody (AM), 2:30; Fifth — Clayton Breeds (L) pinned Andre Torres (EC), 1:58.


Last Updated: 3/7/2013 11:25:08 PM EST

From the Bleachers

See All